Parish Hall, Lion St as a school in 1898. During WWII evacuees were posted here to be taken in by the good folk of Hay.

Parish Hall, Lion St as a school in 1898.
During WWII evacuees were posted here to be taken in by the good folk of Hay.

Oxford Road, outside Hay Castle gates. This was formerly known at Horsefair Road, for obvious reasons.

Oxford Road, outside Hay Castle gates. This was formerly known at Horsefair Road, for obvious reasons.

Hay Heritage Trail: a tour covering the main history of Hay.


1.2km /0.7m /60-90 mins.
Starts /ends outside Hay Cheese Market, Memorial Square, HR3 5AF, in the centre of Hay. 

This tour takes in all the main historic features of Hay, including the Cheese and Butter Markets, some of the town’s former public wells and many of its pubs (there used to be 40 inns in Hay back in the good old days).

It also covers the town walls and the three gateways to the original medieval walled town: Ny Port Gate, Lion Gate & Carles Gate, as well as Hay Castle, and Wyeford Road where people would ford the River Wye before the first bridge was built in 1763.

This tour is the most versatile route and can be cut or lengthened according to your interests and time.

To book this tour please email alan.j.nicholls@btinternet.com

Adults – £5.00
Children u16 free with an adult
Full-time locals /Students & OAPs - £4.00